Speidel 3.2 gallon arrived today

Trying to figure out what equipment you need to get for your next brew? Have something cool to share? Do it here!

Moderators: BlackDuck, Beer-lord, LouieMacGoo, philm00x, gwcr

Banjo-guy
Braumeister
Braumeister

Speidel 3.2 gallon arrived today

Post by Banjo-guy »

The Speidel was delivered. It's pretty impressive! It has very substantial,thick plastic. The spigot is much more solid than what I've been using for the last 18 months. ( LBK)
The carrying handle that is attached to it is really handy. It makes moving from fermenting fridge to my bottling area really easy.
It has a large lid that is easy to remove for easy priming ,hopping,cleaning ect...
It fits in my mini fridge.
The whole product just feels (and is) very substantial.I used it to batch prime today.

Ok now for the downsides:
1.The small Speidel ( 3.2 gallon or 12L) is not intended for fermentation. The lid is solid, with no hole for an airlock. I called More Beer to buy a lid with a hole for the stopper and airlock but it doesnt exist.
I will have to drill a hole in the lid.
2. The spigot's outlet tube is not a size that fits standard US tube sizes.
I was able to fit a 1/2 in. tube to the spigot by heating it in hot water and pushing it fairly hard to get it attached.(I might have contaminated my batch...arg!)

Those two negatives are minor and can easily be dealt with.
I think it's a winner!
Last edited by Banjo-guy on Fri Apr 18, 2014 5:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
mashani
mashani
mashani

Re: Speidel 3.2 gallon arrived today

Post by mashani »

I believe the Speidel lid has a lid gasket like the LBC. (I could be wrong, but they sell replacement gaskets, so I think not).