Cleaning tap lines

Have a question on how to keg your beer or just want some tips on bottling! Don't stick a cork in it until you ask the Borg!

Moderators: BlackDuck, Beer-lord, LouieMacGoo, philm00x, gwcr

berryman
Brew Guru
Brew Guru

Cleaning tap lines

Post by berryman »

On another beer forum I go to the question was asked on cleaning beer lines on kegged. Yes I am fairly new to kegging but think my method seems to work for me. After a dead keg, PBW, then rinse and flush later with starsan, first pore not so good, after that all is good. How you all do it?
Happy Hound Brewery

“I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.”
― Thomas A. Edison
Beer-lord

Re: Cleaning tap lines

Post by Beer-lord »

I just use line cleaner after each keg. I'm told you only have to use this if you only clean your lines a few times a year but I chose to do this with each keg.
I see no reason why PBW then Star San wouldn't work. Heck, even water would work if you clean your lines often enough.
PABs Brewing
Planning
Brew good beer and live a hoppy life
Fermenting

Drinking
Disfucted
Smelly Hops
(split batch) A Many Stringed Bow
Up Next
Men In Black
BlackDuck

Post by BlackDuck »

I do it exactly like you do Sir Berry. Soak in PBW, rinse with water, then StarSan after each keg. I’ve not had a problem with this process yet.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ANTLER BREWING
Drinking
#93 - Gerst Amber Ale
Conditioning and Carbing

Fermenting

On Deck
berryman
Brew Guru
Brew Guru

Post by berryman »

Good to know I am at least in the ball park on this. Some of them seem to go overkill on things on that forum. Brian, Mash and Kealia might relate on this as they go there sometimes too.
Happy Hound Brewery

― Thomas A. Edison
RickBeer
Brew Guru
Brew Guru

Post by RickBeer »