Refil Questions

Take a minute to introduce yourself to the Borg and tell us what's brewing. You can ask questions here too!

Moderators: BlackDuck, Beer-lord, LouieMacGoo, philm00x, gwcr

breez33

Refil Questions

Post by breez33 »

Hi everyone, I was just given a Brewdemon Craft Kit Plus and I have a question about the different recipes. I am brand new to brewing so I apologize if my questions are simplistic. Must I use the refils that brewdemon sells or can I get refils from other places that will work with my kit? Why can't I use refils for other versions of the brewdemon series? I understand refils for the 6 gallon will be measured precisely for that, but why can't I use refils for the other 2 gallon models? For example I see the "signature" 2 gallon series has a stout refill but the "craft kit plus" does not have a stout.
RickBeer
Brew Guru
Brew Guru

Re: Refil Questions

Post by RickBeer »

Welcome.

You can ferment anything you want to in the fermenter, as long as you don't exceed the capacity of the fermenter.

I don't buy Brewdemon's products, but you are misunderstanding the terminology on their site. Craft Series is a can of refill, a can of "liquid brewing sugar", and sanitizer. Craft Series Plus replaces the can of "liquid brewing sugar" with unhopped malt extract. In short, higher quality end result. The Signature Series simply takes two cans of refill, no liquid brewing sugar or unhoppped malt extract. As such, they cost the most.

Summarized on this page: https://www.brewdemon.com/refills
I have over 9,000 posts on "another forum", which means absolutely nothing. Mr. Beer January 2014 Brewer of the Month with all the pomp and circumstance that comes with it...

Certificate in Brewing and Distillation Technology

Sites to find beer making supplies: Adventures in Homebrewing - Mr. Beer - MoreBeer
My Beer - click to reveal
Currently using 6 LBKs.

Beers I regularly brew:
Bell's Best Brown clone
Irish Hills Red - I call this "Ann Arbor Red"