Hard Cider?

Recipes based in Mr. Beer extracts and refills.

Moderators: BlackDuck, Beer-lord, LouieMacGoo, philm00x, gwcr

BeerRust
Brew Master
Brew Master

Hard Cider?

Post by BeerRust »

I brewed the Booberry gobbler on Monday, and also a dark forest stout. This is my first attempt at hard cider. I checked the fermenter and it looks like no activity is going on. All my beer brews in the past always have a good layer of foam, and some activity going on after the first day or 2. I was just wondering if this was normal for a cider?
BlackDuck

Re: Hard Cider?

Post by BlackDuck »

I made the MB Pear Cider a while back. I did not get any foam. The activity looked more like a freshly poured sprite the keeps fizzing at the top, but no foam....does that make sense?
ANTLER BREWING
Drinking
#93 - Gerst Amber Ale
Conditioning and Carbing

Fermenting

On Deck
BeerRust
Brew Master
Brew Master

Post by BeerRust »

BlackDuck wrote:I made the MB Pear Cider a while back. I did not get any foam. The activity looked more like a freshly poured sprite the keeps fizzing at the top, but no foam....does that make sense?
I did see any of that. About how many days in was that?
BlackDuck

Post by BlackDuck »

It pretty much started that action within 24 hours of pitching. So your not seeing anything at all?
ANTLER BREWING
Drinking
#93 - Gerst Amber Ale
Conditioning and Carbing

Fermenting

On Deck
JimH
Brew Master
Brew Master

Post by JimH »

I don't have experience with the MB hard cider, but that's what all my ciders looked like. Just vigorous bubbling, but no krausen to speak of. I don't know if it's the yeast or the lack of grain, but it sounds pretty normal. As long as you see many bubbles and trub, you are making cider!
Jimbo Homebrew Co.
----------------------------------------
Drinking:
Keg1:
Keg2:
Keg3:
Bottled:
Nothing!
Fermenting:
Fermenter 1 (5 Gal Bucket): Empty :(
Fermenter 2 (1 gal.): Empty :(

On Deck:
Something?!
BeerRust
Brew Master
Brew Master

Post by BeerRust »