In which The Hat has an Epiphany

Share an all grain or partial grain recipe that you like or want to get feedback from the Borg.

Moderators: BlackDuck, Beer-lord, LouieMacGoo, philm00x, gwcr

FedoraDave
FedoraDave
FedoraDave

In which The Hat has an Epiphany

Post by FedoraDave »

Okay, I've been working for a couple of years now, trying to perfect my recipe for a little brew I call White Panama. I had originally conceived it as a blonde ale with a strong orange flavor. I know wheat beers are more amenable to fruit flavors, but I wanted to create something more mainstream, but light, with that orange flavor in the aroma and throughout the drinking experience.

So tonight, I'm sitting watching "The Fugitive" (a great movie, BTW, and one which, if you don't like it, I hate you), and sipping on one of my newest brews, Suddenly! Saison, when a realization hits me with the force of a wet haddock across the fetlock.

It's not the flavoring ---- it's the yeast!

I could make White Panama a saison! And sure, I could add some lemon peel, but what's going to really bring out the fruit flavor is the saison yeast doing its thing!

So I'm gonna give that a try. I'll keep the same malt and hops bills, but I'll use saison yeast, and ferment it at a slightly elevated temperature. Mid-September would be a good time to do that, since my basement is probably going to stay in the high 60s/low 70s for a few more weeks.

Now what I need to do is some research on saison yeasts. I've only made the one, and it was because I had Danstar saison yeast on hand. It has a good fruit flavor, but it also has some peppery/spicy flavors, and I'm thinking I want to go more to the fruity side, so any suggestions (and I know you have suggestions!) on which yeast might be the better choice would be most welcome, and worthy of a tip o' the ol' fedora with my sincerest gratitudinous emotions.

The recipe, BTW is as follows (2.5 gallon batch):

Munich 4 lb
Biscuit 0.5 lb
Carapils 0.5 lb