How does this look? OG/FG?

Share a basic extract recipe that you like or want to get feedback from the Borg.

Moderators: BlackDuck, Beer-lord, LouieMacGoo, philm00x, gwcr

MattKnox

How does this look? OG/FG?

Post by MattKnox »

Ok guys Im still new to brewing but I have some ingredients left around the house so thought I would do a partial mash. I'm really not sure where I should get my numbers for OG/FG so I really hope I can get your guys help.

2 lbs 2 row
2.5 Pilsner LME
.5 lb flaked maize
.5 carapils
.25 crystal 20L
.4 cascade 60 min
.4 cascade 5 min

How does that look? This is a Mr. Beer size batch
RickBeer
Brew Guru
Brew Guru

Re: How does this look? OG/FG?

Post by RickBeer »

Download QBrew from www.screwybrewer.com and it gives you everything.
I have over 9,000 posts on "another forum", which means absolutely nothing. Mr. Beer January 2014 Brewer of the Month with all the pomp and circumstance that comes with it...

Certificate in Brewing and Distillation Technology

Sites to find beer making supplies: Adventures in Homebrewing - Mr. Beer - MoreBeer
My Beer - click to reveal
Currently using 6 LBKs.

Beers I regularly brew:
Bell's Best Brown clone
Irish Hills Red - I call this "Ann Arbor Red"
Mackinac Island Red - I call this "Michigan Red"
Oatmeal Stout - I call this Not Fat, Stout - Oatmeal Stout

Bottled 5 gallons of Ann Arbor Red on 4/18/17. Bottled 5 gallons of Michigan Red on 5/8/17.

Brewed in 2017 - 22.13 gallons (19.91 in 2012, 48.06 in 2013, 61.39 in 2014, 84.26 in 2015,46.39 in 2016)
Brewed in lifetime - 282.14 gallons
Drinkable beer on hand -  13.58 cases, with 6.11 cases ready in May and early June.
Average cost per 12 pack through all beer brewed - $6.27(ingredients only)
gwcr

Post by gwcr »

Just plugged your ingredients into Qbrew. Looks like the OG would be 1.082 with FG of 1.021. IBUs would be at 17.

This recipe looks very heavy on the malt or light on the hops (take your pick). It would also be about 8.0% abv.