Another perspective on judge's sheets

Let everyone know your competition results and any lessons learned

Moderators: BlackDuck, Beer-lord, LouieMacGoo, philm00x, gwcr

FedoraDave
FedoraDave
FedoraDave

Another perspective on judge's sheets

Post by FedoraDave »

When I received my scoresheets from Homebrew Alley VIII, I didn't just read them, I studied them. I compared the observations to my own recollections of what I saw, smelled, and tasted. I wanted to learn and improve.

With the Pearly Pils, both judges noted diacetyl. One noted a sulphur aroma, and the other noted a green apple aroma. Both judges recommended healthy yeast rate and temperature control.

I did not recall any off-flavors or aromas, but the recommendations made sense for any beer, especially a German Pils. So I resolved to make the recipe again, and concentrate on those two items, and to making a minor change in the hops bill, which I had already decided to do on my own.

I also talked to the guy at my LHBS about it, and he confirmed my process regarding D-rest and lagering were okay. He also pointed out that judges are human, everyone's different, and judging beer, while being mindful of style standards and guidelines, is still subjective to some extent. One thing he suggested kind of hit home, though, and I hope I'm not using this as an excuse for a score that was lower than I felt it should have been.

He pointed out that it's possible the fact that it's a lager puts the problem of diacetyl in their minds, and the power of suggestion takes over, so they're hypercritical and looking for anything at all to hang that particular hat on.

Maybe. And I hope I'm not adopting a "sour grapes" perspective, but I honestly didn't perceive off-aromas or off-flavors, nor did anyone else. I even compared it to a Victory Pilsner, and thought mine was really damn close to a commercial example used by the BJCP for style comparison. But I told myself that I'm not BJCP, so what do I know?